I decided it was about time I move my top ten to Tuesdays like everyone else, not to be like everyone else, but to follow the meme. Originally I decided on Fridays because I wasn’t sure how much time I would have during the week to devote to posting during a weekday. Now I’ve realized it doesn’t matter which I do because I typically procrastinate anyway. So here is my “top ten books for readers so like…” hosted by the broke and bookish. I was originally stumped when trying to figure out what to do for this post, but then I figured I’d pick two popular books and give suggestions for readers for the two books instead of one. I couldn’t think of ten that would go with The Hunger Games. ((All the cover images link back to their Goodreads pages))

The Hunger Games

by Suzanne Collins
Hunger Games

I read The Hunger Games (THG) when it came out in 2008 and fell in love with the story and characters instantly, then had to endure the cliff hangers until the next book came to life. Below are five recommendations for those who love the hunger games trilogy and want to discover something new.

The SelectionRed QueenGracelingDeliriumCinder

  • The Selection byKiera Cass
    • I find that this book would be great for those who like THG because of the class, caste, system they have in the books. Similar to THG there are many groups that the population as a whole is divided into, expect that in the Selection the different classes interact more on a daily basis rather than being divided regionally. This series brings a new dimension to the caste system because it goes into what happens if you marry down or up.
  • Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
    • This a fresh new series, only released last month which also has a social system in place. While in the hunger games you essentially have everyone Vs the capital, in Red Queen you have the Reds Vs the Silvers. Different from THG, this novel features Silvers who have supernatural abilities that make them deadly, whereas in THG you have humans with superhuman abilities.
  • Graceling by Kristin Cashore
    • Graceling also offers a dicotymous caste system that separates supernatural/superhuman beings from your average human. Additionally Graceling has a great romance to egg on when the characters are on an adventure, like Katniss and Peeta in the games.
  • Delirium by Lauren Oliver
    • This series is similar to THG with it being a dystopian setting and has characters around the same age. Delirium is a bit more girly in the sense that most of the novel revolves around the feeling of love, whereas in THG we have familial loyalty, friendship, trust, and a bit of love.
  • Cinder by Marissa Meyer
    • As a dystopian novel this the Lunar Chronicles takes it to the next level the distant future. There is epic adventure in this series dealing with identity, love, and friendship that any THG fan will love.

Twilight

by Stephenie Meyer
Twilight

I read Twilight when I was in Highschool and I loved it then as any 16 year old would, when I later reread the series I realized how annoying and irritating Bella is and that there are many ridiculous moments throughout the series. Despite my newly discovered distaste for the novels, they still became a national phenomenon that many people read and loved. Below are five recommendations for those who love, like, or even just want a better vampire story than Twilight.

_Vampire Academy_Bloodlines_Blue Bloods_City of Bones_hushHush

  • Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead
    • I cannot stress how much I love this series and author, she took vampires to the next level by making them not sparkle and distinguishing the good from the bad from the badass. The entire vampire academy series centers on Rose Hathaway a strong, independent badass woman who knows what she wants and is a better role model than Bella.
  • Bloodlines by Richelle Mead
    • Bloodlines is a spin-off series of Vampire Academy that focuses on some minor characters from the VA series. This still includes some of the vampires, most importantly a slightly crazy, sexy vampire. The main protagonist in this series is also a badass woman who is an alchemist turned witch.
  • Blue Bloods by Melissa de la Cruz
    • I’m currently rereading this series, which is full of adventure, mystery, and vampires. These vampires are well blended into the upper-crust of manhattan and our protagonist discovers that she is one of them and learns how to adjust.
  • City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
    • While vampires are not a majorly important aspect of this series, these books have a lot to offer. The City of Bones is a part of the Mortal Instruments series (TMI) which contains werewolves, vampires, fairies, demons, warlocks,  and badass shadowhunters. Those trained to help keep the peace between the downworld, all those supernatural creatures, and the human world. The main protagonist in this series is a strong woman who turns out to be a shadowhunter unknowingly.
  • Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick
    • This series, while not about vampires, is about angels. The series contains an epic romance that puts Bella and Edward to shame.

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Books for readers who like The Hunger Games & Twilight

  1. I actually didn’t care for Twilight that much to be honest, it was mainly because of Bella, she was too inconsistent to me! But I love this list, I really enjoyed VA and TMI! And a lot of the Dystopian novels in the first 5 are in my TBR list. Great choices!

  2. I loved hunger games but not so much twilight. I am keen to start Red Queen soon… I will, it just keeps getting bumped! Thanks for the list -)

What are your thoughts?