Honestly I’m not exactly sure how a book tag works, but thanks xingsings for tagging me.

Note: My OCD could not handle the weird numbering, so I had to redo it.

Here are my responses:

1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?
I don’t get sick, but I don’t particularly like straining my eyes when the book won’t stay still.

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?
After taking a college course analyzing this, Jane Austen’s writing style is particularly unique to me because her works are essentially romance novels to us, yet they skirt around romance. Rarely is a romantic scene portrayed in the novels. We, the reader, pick up on the romance through other clues.

3. Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.
I’m 100% siding with Harry Potter with this. To be honest when I was young and naive, well younger and more naive, I really liked the Twilight Saga. Now that I am older and more educated I found the novels, and movies, to be bad influences for today’s young. Essentially they propagate that a woman needs a man, and he’s pretty controlling at that. As for Harry Potter, it just keeps getting better with each reread.

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is in it (besides books)?
As I am out of school, I only carry a backpack when I need to carry around my laptop. In those instances I typically carry around my laptop, charger, mouse, pencil bag, sketchbook, wallet, keys, and a book or two.

5. Do you smell your books?
All the time, especially when I pick up a particularly old one.

6. Books with or without little illustrations.
I appreciate some illustration when reading novels based in new worlds because they allow me to picture the land. On other types of novels, illustration tend to inhibit my imagination of the characters.

7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing?
Twilight. There may have been a few others, but that is my number one example.

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!
It’s not really a funny story, but a book related thing. When I was younger both my brother and I had our own complete (at least up to that point) sets  of the Harry Potter books. My brother, being the weird brother he is, wouldn’t read his set because he wanted the books to stay in pristine condition and thus he would take my books and read them. I got to the point that I had to hide my copies so he couldn’t get to them. (I would read my copy, I just didn’t want my brother reading them.)

9. What is the tinniest book on your shelf?
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by J.K. Rowling. I found this out when writing an Exploring My Books post.

10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling. This was also figured out when doing an Exploring My Books post.

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?
I’ve never been much of a writing, at least not a confident writer. Most of the writing I do is here on this blog.

12. When did you get into reading?
I started, like many of my generation, reading Harry Potter. Although unfortunately by the time I got into it the first four books had already been published. This was when I was in the fifth grade.

13. What is your favourite classic book?
Fahrenheit 451 is my favorite classic because of its message that clearly translated to today’s society.

14. In school what was your best subject? Language Arts/English?
English was one of my least favorite subjects. I typically enjoyed my science and math classes the most, especially chemistry.

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated, what would you do?
If I didn’t already own the book, I’d graciously accept it because I can add it to my collection regardless of my opinion of it.

16. What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while blogging?
I tend to procrastinate often. I’ve gotten better since high school, but unfortunately I still have bouts of it.

17. What is your favorite word?
This is something I hadn’t really thought about before. I do have certain worlds I like to write out by hand though. I really like writing the word awkward because of the ‘w’s’ and the ‘k’ look cool in cursive.

18. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?
As i try not to label others, I also try not to label myself. But if I had to pick one it’d be nerd, at least that is how my family labels me.

19. Vampires or Fairies? Why?
Vampires because I understand the lore better.

20. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?
Angels because its interesting how angels become corrupted in a lot of contemporary YA literature.

21. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?
Werewolves, I just don’t like ghosts much.

22. Zombies or Vampires? Why?
Vampires again because zombies give me nightmares. Out of all of the supernatural creatures I’ve read about and seen on television shows like Supernatural, zombies are the only creatures I can’t handle.

23. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?
Forbidden love because I am over reading about love triangles. It seems to be one of the most overused character relations.

24. And finally: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?
I like both, but in moderation. Sometimes I just want love, other times I want a lot of action(-packed scenes). 😉

Here’s who I tagged!

Becca and Books
The Worn Bookmark
Her Book Obsession
The Book Boulevard
Written Word Worlds

4 thoughts on “The Ultimate Book Tag (?)

What are your thoughts?