Review: When the Scoundrel Sins

When the Scoundrel Sins

Anna Harrington

Capturing the Carlisles #2

Publisher: Forever
Publication date: 29-Aug-2017
Date Finished: 29-Jul-2017
Format: eARC
Pages: 352
Genres: Historical, Romance, Historical Romance, Regency Romance
ISBN: 9781455597284
Source: Netgalley
Rating:3 star

Reading Challenges: Goodreads Reading Challenge

Synopsis

A MOST INDECENT PROPOSAL

Annabelle Green needs a husband-and quickly. To inherit the only home she’s ever known, she must be married by her twenty-fifth birthday. But finding a suitor has been next to impossible after a reckless rogue named Quinton Carlisle seduced her into a scandalous midnight tryst. Her reputation in ruins, Belle now needs a rather large favor. And she knows just who to turn to . . .

Quinn can hardly believe that the shy bookish girl he teased as a child has grown into such a brazen beauty. The very idea of marrying Belle to right the wrongs of his past is downright shocking . . . and deliciously tempting. Too bad marriage, convenient or otherwise, is the last thing Quinn wants. He’ll help Belle find a husband and be on his way. But if he can’t control his attraction to the bride-to-be, this marriage could go up in flames-of wicked desire.”

Goodreads

Review

Sadly I was not as impressed with this novel as I have been with others by Anna Harrington. It started off very strong, but I kept getting irritated by the end.

A lot of the novel seemed to be piecemealed together instead of being consistent throughout. I think it may be because a lot of things were happening at once and it just did not come together easily. For example, while Bletchley was present in much of the novel he seemed a bit superfluous to the story. Additionally, the ending irked me. It was wrapped up very abruptly.

Aside from those issues, I did like the story enough, also it helps that it has some very well described intimate scenes.

About the Author

“I fell in love with historical romances and all things Regency—and especially all those dashing Regency heroes—while living in England, where I spent most of my time studying the Romantic poets, reading Jane Austen, and getting lost all over the English countryside.

When I read my first Regency romance in 2012, I was hooked and longed to create my own independent and spirited heroines and dashing heroes. The best part of writing historical romances is falling into history—to live in the world of Regency England through my characters, with dazzling balls, beautiful dresses, and gorgeous houses that I would otherwise never be able to experience. I love the period’s rich history and find that all those rules of etiquette and propriety can be worked to the heroine’s advantage…if she’s daring enough to seize her dreams.”

Goodreads

I received this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.

 

What are your thoughts?

