Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses

A Court of Thorns and Roses

Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses #1

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
Publication date: 5-May-2015
Date Finished: 30-May-2017
Format: Hardback
Pages: 421
Genres: Young Adult, YA, Romance, Fantasy, Faeries
ISBN: 9781619634442
Source: Barnes and Noble
Rating:
Reading Challenges: Goodreads Reading Challenge, Beat the Backlist Challenge

Synopsis

“Feyre’s survival rests upon her ability to hunt and kill – the forest where she lives is a cold, bleak place in the long winter months. So when she spots a deer in the forest being pursued by a wolf, she cannot resist fighting it for the flesh. But to do so, she must kill the predator and killing something so precious comes at a price …

Dragged to a magical kingdom for the murder of a faerie, Feyre discovers that her captor, his face obscured by a jeweled mask, is hiding far more than his piercing green eyes would suggest. Feyre’s presence at the court is closely guarded, and as she begins to learn why, her feelings for him turn from hostility to passion and the faerie lands become an even more dangerous place. Feyre must fight to break an ancient curse, or she will lose him forever.”

Goodreads

Review

Finally, after years of seeing fantastic reviews for this book, I started reading it. Mind you, I have owned this book for several months as well, I just kept pushing it off for some reason. I regret pushing it off so long because it had me hooked from the start. This is an addictive book, just as much as the first book in the Throne of Glass series.

There are so many elements of this story that had me hooked. First off, I never realized how much I needed a faerie book in my life. The only other series (TV & book) that I’ve enjoyed are True Blood (TV- I despised the first book of the Sookie Stackhouse series) and Throne of Glass (Book- Also amazing). I’ve read numerous books about dragons and witches and vampires, but faeries have sadly been underrepresented.

As one who adores romances, I can not pass up raving about the males of this book. Tamlin sounds amazingly handsome, sexy, sweet, and god-like. Then you have Rhysand with his sexy, brooding, dark demeanor. I can not help but compare my feelings for these characters with Stephen and Damon from The Vampire Diaries (TVD) (I was a TV show fan, not a book fan here). Tamlin’s personality reminds me of Stephen and reminds me of how much I loved him in the first couple seasons of the show, but then I fell deep for Damon, which is where I think Rhysand is going to lead me in A Court of Mist and Fury.

Another aspect I loved in this series was seeing everything for the perspective of a mortal, a mortal who begins in very depressing, desperate circumstances. MINOR SPOILER: The ending irked me a bit because I loved her humanity, but we’ll see how that plays out. While many YA novels begin with characters way down on their luck, they are typically the same being as their adversary. This novel has a mortal in love with a faerie and against a faerie while being irritated by another faerie.

I am super excited to start A Court of Mist and Fury soon (I already own it so I should be starting it shortly), and I completely recommend this novel to fantasy fans!

 

About the Author

“Sarah J. Maas is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series (Queen of Shadows, Book 4, will be out in September 2015), as well as the A Court of Thorns and Roses series (out 5/5/15).

Sarah lives in Bucks County, PA, and over the years, she has developed an unhealthy appreciation for Disney movies and bad pop music. She adores fairy tales and ballet, drinks too much tea, and watches an ungodly amount of TV. When she’s not busy writing, she can be found exploring the historic and beautiful Pennsylvania countryside with her husband and canine companion.”

Goodreads

 

One thought on “Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses

  1. I am glad you liked it! Honestly, the first books was not my favourite at all. The second one picked the things up a little bit and now I am waiting (impatiently) until the third book finally arrives!

What are your thoughts?

