Review: On the Fence

On the Fence

Kasie West

Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication date: 1-Jul-2014
Date Finished: 17-Apr-2017
Format: Paperback
Pages: 296
Genres: Romance, Contemporary, YA, Young Adult
ISBN: 9780062235671
Source: library
Rating:
Reading Challenges: Goodreads Challenge

Synopsis

For sixteen-year-old Charlotte Reynolds, aka Charlie, being raised by a single dad and three older brothers has its perks. She can outrun, outscore, and outwit every boy she knows—including her longtime neighbor and honorary fourth brother, Braden. But when it comes to being a girl, Charlie doesn’t know the first thing about anything. So when she starts working at chichi boutique to pay off a speeding ticket, she finds herself in a strange new world of makeup, lacy skirts, and BeDazzlers. Even stranger, she’s spending time with a boy who has never seen her tear it up in a pickup game.

To cope with the stress of faking her way through this new reality, Charlie seeks late-night refuge in her backyard, talking out her problems with Braden by the fence that separates them. But their Fence Chats can’t solve Charlie’s biggest problem: she’s falling for Braden. Hard. She knows what it means to go for the win, but if spilling her secret means losing him for good, the stakes just got too high. ”

Goodreads

Review

I really wish Kasie West could rewrite my life! I also adored this novel by her, the fourth out of four I’ve read that I have loved. Her writing makes her characters relatable, which is harder than it sounds.

In this novel, Charlie is a tomboy, and while I’ve never been a tomboy, I could completely relate to this character in many ways. First off, not feeling like an attractive person, sadly it is an all too common theme among adolescents. Charlie believes that, based on random comments her brothers have said, she is not an attractive person, and that bothers her deep down. Everyone wants to feel liked and wanted and Kasie West illustrates that clearly here. Another similarity I have with Charlie is a newfound love of makeup, it can be challenging at first to get into makeup because it is very overwhelming, but she and I have both pulled through.

Yet again, Kasie West has created another beautiful male protagonist with a great personality… why isn’t this real life! (That was mean, there are plenty of beautiful & real human males out in the world)

An aspect I enjoyed about this novel is seeing Charlie come into herself and accept herself for who she is and what she wants.

Overall I definitely recommend this book, and all the other Kasie West novels I have read!

About the Author

I write YA. I eat Junior Mints. Sometimes I go crazy and do both at the same time. My novels are: PIVOT POINT and its sequel SPLIT SECOND. And my contemporary novels: THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US, ON THE FENCE, THE FILL-IN BOYFRIEND, PS I LIKE YOU, and BY YOUR SIDE. My agent is the talented and funny Michelle Wolfson.

Goodreads

 

7 thoughts on “Review: On the Fence

  1. Hi there ! I never normally do this but I had to comment and tell you how much I adore your blog! I just came across it now and I am so happy I have, it is so wonderful and you truly have a great blog. I am going to follow you so I can keep up to date with all of your latest posts. Keep up the great work!

      1. I do, but I don’t post much. Honestly my twitter ( @shannonLB91 ) only has tweets whenever I post a new review, and my instagram (slbuchanan ) is mostly nail art and misc book related things.

  2. Ooh, I’ve been meaning to start reading this authors books for a while now! I think I need to priorize them on my virtual TBR after this review ❤ I'm so glad you enjoyed this one, Shannon!

What are your thoughts?

