Review: Mooncop

Mooncop

Tom Gauld

gauld-tommooncop
Publisher: Drawn and Quarterly
Publication date: 20-Sep-2016
Date Finished: 2-Mar-2017
Format: hardback
Pages: 96
Genres: Graphic novel, Science Fiction, Sci-Fi
ISBN: 9781770462540
Source: library
Rating:4 starReading Challenges: Goodreads

Synopsis

“Living on the moon . . . Whatever were we thinking? . . . It seems so silly now.”

The lunar colony is slowly winding down, like a small town circumvented by a new super highway. As our hero, the Mooncop, makes his daily rounds, his beat grows ever smaller, the population dwindles. A young girl runs away, a dog breaks off his leash, an automaton wanders off from the Museum of the Moon. ”

Goodreads

Review

This futuristic graphic novel caught my eye while wandering about in my local library. The navy blue and silver color (both favorite colors of mine), intrigued me. The cover did not give anything away in regards to the plot because what occurs in this story is nothing like I imagined it would be.

One aspect that both surprised me and I enjoyed is that this story was comically dull. The lack of everything made it fascinating. This is a very short graphic novel with very little going for it, yet I enjoyed the monotony of it. It fit the story it was trying to tell.

The book is very well designed, as stated earlier I love the color choice. It is fitting for a story set on the moon. When one imagines living on the moon I tend to think it would be a utopia of sorts, but this story contradicts that in a rational way.

I would recommend this graphic novel to everyone, it was a pleasantly boring read.

About the Author

“Tom Gauld is a cartoonist and illustrator.
He draws a weekly cartoon for the Guardian newspaper
and has created a number of comic books.
He lives and works in London.”

Goodreads

3 thoughts on “Review: Mooncop

  1. Is this geared more towards adults or kids? When I opened this review, I was hoping to see about it for my 10-year-old, but maybe not? Do you think the humor of the dullness would go over a kid’s head?

What are your thoughts?

