Review: Wires and Nerve

Wires and Nerve, Volume 1

Marissa Meyer

Wires and Nerve #1

meyer-marissa-wire-and-nerve
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Publication date: 31-Jan-2017
Date Finished: 23-Feb-2017
Format: Hardback
Pages: 240
Genres: Graphic Novel, Young Adult, YA, Fantasy, Science Fiction
ISBN: 9781250078261
Source: Barnes & Noble
Rating:4 starReading Challenges: Goodreads

Synopsis

“In her first graphic novel, #1 New York Times and USA Today bestseller Marissa Meyer follows Iko, the beloved android from the Lunar Chronicles, on a dangerous and romantic new adventure — with a little help from Cinder and the Lunar team.

In her first graphic novel, bestselling author Marissa Meyer extends the world of the Lunar Chronicles with a brand-new, action-packed story about Iko, the android with a heart of (mechanized) gold. When rogue packs of wolf-hybrid soldiers threaten the tenuous peace alliance between Earth and Luna, Iko takes it upon herself to hunt down the soldiers’ leader. She is soon working with a handsome royal guard who forces her to question everything she knows about love, loyalty, and her own humanity. With appearances by Cinder and the rest of the Rampion crew, this is a must-have for fans of the bestselling series.”

Goodreads

Review

Despite having been awhile since I read the Lunar Chronicles, Wires and Nerve brought all my favorite characters back for another round. I am extremely glad that this time it is all about Iko! Sadly she was the only main hero without a happily ever after. While this book doesn’t necessarily grant that ending, it does bring more life into her character.

My favorite aspect of this book is the design. It is gorgeous! The monochromatic scheme with a pop of color on the cover makes it striking! (Also I love most covers that have stars on the cover.) I also loved how clean the drawings are as well. Many graphic artists leave a sketchy feel even in their final drafts, and as one who likes clean lines, this irritates me. The illustrations of Doug Holgate are beautiful. While I’m not the biggest fan of many of the character’s faces, the rest of the drawings are gorgeous.

I believe I thought this before when I first read the series, but this book reiterated my belief that Iko is a new AI being. While I imagine Artificial Intelligence is not something the fictional world wants for the potential bad that could ensue, in Iko is brings out a full sentient, emotional character. It makes me think that there is definitely going to be more on Iko’s ‘glitch’ in the future volumes. While I am left with many questions, I eagerly await the next book! I definitely recommend this for fans of the Lunar Chronicles!

About the Author

“I live in Tacoma, Washington, with my husband and beautiful twin daughters. Represented by Jill Grinberg. Learn more about me and my upcoming books at http://www.marissameyer.com.” –Goodreads

 

What are your thoughts?

