Review: We Can Be Mended

We Can Be Mended

Veronica Roth

Divergent #3.5

roth-veronica-we-can-be-mended
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication date: 17-Jan-2017
Date Finished: 22-Feb-2017
Format: paperback
Pages: 33
Genres: Dystopian, Young Adult, YA, Epilogue
ISBN: 9780062686954
Source: Publisher (free with preorder)
Rating:4 star
Reading Challenges: Goodreads

Synopsis

“We Can Be Mended is a short-story epilogue that focuses on Four and takes place five years after Allegiant, the conclusion of the Divergent series.”

Goodreads

Review

This was a very moving, short piece by Veronica Roth. I was eager to get my hands on it once I heard of its existence. (It was the deciding factor on whether I would pre-order Carve the Mark or not). It was worth forking over my money early. To be honest, Allegiant left me devastated. The loss of Tris was awful because of those she left behind. I am satisfied with the conclusion of this story because it brings together two very important characters from the Divergent series in a way that is steady and worthwhile. The coming together of these characters who previously lost so much before was very fitting and a wonderful way to mend their pains. I definitely recommend those who loved the Divergent series to get a hold of this short story/epilogue and gain a bit more closure for the series.

About the Author

“Veronica Roth is from a Chicago suburb. She studied creative writing at Northwestern University, and wrote DIVERGENT (Katherine Tegen Books, May 2011) and INSURGENT (May 2012). The third and final book in The Divergent Trilogy, ALLEGIANT. In the meantime she will spend endless hours browsing Wikipedia in her pajamas as she eats corn flakes. (Or some other kind of bland breakfast cereal.)” –Goodreads

One thought on “Review: We Can Be Mended

  1. Sorry, but I disagree with you.
    This epilogue not only did not mend anything for me, it actually infuriated me even more. After she ruined the ending of the series Veronica with this epilogue ruined even Divergent and Insurgent for me as I won’t be able to look at those book in the same way after this epilogue. I hope she stops writing about this series as I can not take anymore from her. Shame on her, she had such a good and powerful story…
    P.S. I actually made peace with Allegiant thanks to a great alternative I found on fanfiction which I highly recommend (Determinant; one choice will change everything by Windchimed). After reading this version of Allegiant (which in my opinion is better than the real one and not only for the ending) I will consider this the real ending book of the trilogy and the Veronica Roth’s one as a nightmare!

What are your thoughts?

