Review: Seven Days of You

Seven Days of You

Cecilia Vinesse

vinesse-cecilia-seven-days-of-you
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication date: 07-Mar-2017
Date Finished: 13-Feb-2017
Format: eARC
Pages: 336 
Genres: Young Adult, YA, Contemporary, Romance
ISBN: 9780316391115
Source: Netgalley
Rating:4 star
Reading Challenges: Goodreads

Synopsis

“Sophia has seven days left in Tokyo before she moves back to the States. Seven days to say good-bye to the electric city, her wild best friend, and the boy she’s harbored a semi-secret crush on for years. Seven perfect days…until Jamie Foster-Collins moves back to Japan and ruins everything.

Jamie and Sophia have a history of heartbreak, and the last thing Sophia wants is for him to steal her leaving thunder with his stupid arriving thunder. Yet as the week counts down, the relationships she thought were stable begin to explode around her. And Jamie is the one who helps her pick up the pieces. Sophia is forced to admit she may have misjudged Jamie, but can their seven short days of Tokyo adventures end in anything but good-bye?”

Goodreads

Review

 

Starting this book, I wasn’t sure I would like it because of how short of a timeline the story traverses. I was sadly mistaken because so much was revealed and experienced each day of the tale. I started and finished this book in two days, which is impressive for me (at least lately). It was addicting and had me up until 3 am one night. This was a very cute, quick romance that showed a complexity to the characters. It was a very whirlwind romance (the story is told over a week), that went quickly from anger to like to love. It had a very hopeful element to it as well.

This was a very cute, quick romance that showed a complexity to the characters. It was a very whirlwind romance (the story is told over a week), that went quickly from anger to like to love. It had a very hopeful element to it as well.

Various issues were discussed in the story such as abandonment and multicontinental living, giving the story more depth. Overall this was a feel good stoyr with a bitersweet ending. The reader knows from the get-go that it won’t end well, she still has to move, but the story made me hopeful that it would change.

I would recommend this book to fans of contemporary romances and Young adult books.

About the Author

“I’m Cecilia Vinesse, and I wrote a book about saying good-bye to high school friends and staying out all night and the dizziness of falling in love and the deliciousness of ramen.

I was born in France but then moved to Japan. And then to the States. And then back to Japan. And then back to the States. When I was 18, I moved to New York where I was homesick for nearly seven years. After that, I got a job in a cold, snowy city in northern Japan and, from there, I headed to Scotland where I got my master’s in creative writing and lived off tea, writer tears, and Hobnobs.

I still live in the U.K. and spend most of my time writing, reading, baking, and getting emotional over Tori Amos albums. Hobbies include pretending Buffy the Vampire Slayer is real, collecting a lipstick to match every Skittle flavor, and listening to a thousand podcasts a day.

A pup named Malfi and a Renaissancist named Rachel are my favorite things in the world. That, and books. I should probably mention the books again. ” –Author’s Website ( www.ceciliavinesse.com )

 

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher, via Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review.

What are your thoughts?

