Short Story Review: A Confidential Problem & A Private Miscellany

A Confidential Problem & A Private Miscellany

K.J. Charles

Society of Gentlemen #2.5 & #3.5

 

So I’ve started off the year with a slow start, as far as reading goes. I’ve been in a bit of a slump and have not been in the mood to start many substantial novels. As I am trying to stick to a blogging schedule, and I don’t have a book finished to review, I decided to read and review the short stories that are from the Society of Gentlemen series by K.J. Charles. The Society of Gentlemen books are gay historical romance novels that are based in Regency England. To understand either of these stories, you must read the full novels or else nothing in these stories will make sense. I struggled to remember the characters as I have read many books since these ones. These short stories are available free from the author on her website http://kjcharleswriter.com/

These short stories are available free from the author on her website http://kjcharleswriter.com/

A Confidential Problem (Society of Gentlemen #2.5)

This short story was just that, very short. It takes place after the second book (hence the #2.5). In this story Silas and Cyprian, both common people, meet and just discuss life and such. While nothing dramatic occurs during this story, it was a nice character development session. Worth the read for those who are going to continue to book 3.

A Private Miscellany (Society of Gentlemen #3.5)

This short story was at first just an epistolary between the friends of the novels, and then a normal dialogue scene. The epistolary revealed more character development and the scene at the end was very intense. So intense it gets 5 flames out of 5 in my heating rating. The final scene is between Dominic and Silas and it is a celebratory intimate scene that is perfect for their unique intimate tastes. Overall this short story was very interesting, and worth the read.

About the Author

“I’m a writer of romance, mostly m/m, often historical or fantasy or both.
I’m also a freelance editor, and I blog about writing and editing at kjcharleswriter.com.
I live in London, UK, with two kids, a tolerant husband, and an even more tolerant cat.
Follow me on Twitter @kj_charles or friend me on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/kj.charles.9” –Goodreads

What are your thoughts?

