Review: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

Lewis Carroll

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland #1

carroll-lewis-alices-adventures-in-wonderland
Publisher: Rock Paper Company
Publication date: 2016 (originally published 1865)
Date Finished: 20-Jan-2017
Format: paperback
Pages: 135
Genres: Classic, Fantasy, 19th Century, Young Adult,
ISBN: 9781680294644
Source: OwlCrate
Rating:3 star
Reading Challenges: Beat the Back List, Back to the Classics, Goodreads

Synopsis

“Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland (commonly shortened to Alice in Wonderland) is an 1865 novel written by English mathematician Charles Lutwidge Dodgson under the pseudonym Lewis Carroll. It tells of a girl named Alice falling through a rabbit hole into a fantasy world populated by peculiar, anthropomorphic creatures. The tale plays with logic, giving the story lasting popularity with adults as well as with children. It is considered to be one of the best examples of the literary nonsense genre. Its narrative course and structure, characters and imagery have been enormously influential in both popular culture and literature, especially in the fantasy genre.”

Goodreads

Review

Last year I tried reading a graphic novel format of Alice’s Adventure in Wonderland, and it was not my cup of tea. I could not even finish it. After reading this edition of the story (this one was much more palatable), I realize that maybe I should have read this version first, and then tried out other formats. I tend to have a complicated history with Alice in Wonderland. I never liked the animated Disney version because it was very strange, but I love the version that came out in 2010 that had Johnny Depp as the Mad Hatter. The animated one seemed like a bizarre trip whereas the human version had a more definite plot. Setting the movies aside, I actually enjoyed this story. It seemed to be a plotless, convoluted dream that one could only imagine in their dreams. This was a very quick read, although I read it over the course of several days because I read it in sync with my serial reader app.

My primary motive for reading this novel was so that I can be prepared to read Heartless by Marissa Meyer. I figured I would be lost in Heartless without knowing how Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland pans out. I was grateful when my OwlCrate arrived in November with a copy of this book and Heartless. It was as if they knew I was unprepared for Heartless.

I would recommend this book to those who don’t need a structured plot because this one is very organic. It flows like a stream of consciousness.

Lastly, I adore this cover. It is cute and would be perfect for a child’s collection (and mine because I am a child at heart).

About the Author

The Reverend Charles Lutwidge Dodgson, better known by the pen name Lewis Carroll, was an English author, mathematician, logician, Anglican clergyman and photographer.

His most famous writings are Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and its sequel Through the Looking-Glass as well as the poems “The Hunting of the Snark” and “Jabberwocky”, all considered to be within the genre of literary nonsense.

Oxford scholar, Church of England Deacon, University Lecturer in Mathematics and Logic, academic author of learned theses, gifted pioneer of portrait photography, colorful writer of imaginative genius and yet a shy and pedantic man, Lewis Carroll stands pre-eminent in the pantheon of inventive literary geniuses.

He also has works published under his real name. –Goodreads

 

4 thoughts on “Review: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

  1. I listened to Alice in Wonderland via audiobook and had issues connecting with it. I am not sure if this was due to the audiobook format or what? I just didn’t get the wonderland world building that I was expecting… I may try to give it another go with the physical version to see if I like it better.

What are your thoughts?

