The Trouble With Dukes

Grace Burrowes

burrowes-grace-the-trouble-with-dukes
Publisher: Forever
Publication date: 20-Dec-2016
Date Finished: 19-Dec-2016
Format: Paperback ARC & eARC
Pages: 368
Series: Windham Brides (#1)
Genres: Romance, Historical Romance, Regency
ISBN: 9781455569960
Source: Publisher/NetGalley
Rating:3 star
2 flames

THEY CALL HIM THE DUKE OF MURDER…

The gossips whisper that the new Duke of Murdoch is a brute, a murderer, and even worse—a Scot. They say he should never be trusted alone with a woman. But Megan Windham sees in Hamish something different, someone different.

No one was fiercer at war than Hamish MacHugh, though now the soldier faces a whole new battlefield: a London Season. To make his sisters happy, he’ll take on any challenge—even letting their friend Miss Windham teach him to waltz. Megan isn’t the least bit intimidated by his dark reputation, but Hamish senses that she’s fighting battles of her own. For her, he’ll become the warrior once more, and for her, he might just lose his heart.” Goodreads

REVIEW

To begin, it is a very bad sign when a historical romance takes me a month to read. I started this book back in November after I received the paperback ARC from the publisher (in exchange for an honest review). I was able to start off strong, but my interest began to dwindle as more and more characters were introduced. While I understand this is a spin-off of another series, it should be able to stand alone as well since it is the first in a new series.

Prior to starting this book I had only ever read one other Grace Burrowes book, and that was over a year and a half ago, so I did not remember or recognize a single character. (Nor was the other book particularly memorable, another bad sign for this one.)

One of my favorite parts of a romance novel is seeing and experiencing the passion the main characters have for one another, sadly this one fell short. Hamish and Megan did not seem like a legitimate relationship to me. I’ve read many novels in which the characters fall in love in a shorter time frame than had happened in this one and they seem more real.

Another aspect that irritated me was the PDA. I’m pretty sure, at least based on the hundreds of historical romance novels I have read, that PDA between unmarried couples was not allowed. There were many scenes in the novel that were cute, but not believable for the period.

Overall, it was a decent novel, but not one that has me looking forward to the sequels.

 WHAT’S YOUR FAVORITE TYPE OF ROMANCE?

This book was given to me by the publisher, through NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.

3 thoughts on “The Trouble With Dukes

  1. Awww, I’m so sorry you didn’t like the book that much, Shannon! =( Can I ask what is PDA? Sorry, I sometimes have difficulties with abreviations, oops!
    I did put Grace’s books a bit aside because of this “endless” connection between them – I have many ebooks from her on my reader, but OMG, not a single one is “the first” to start everything and I have closure and book order problems, so I just hid the problem in the back of my ereader and decided to read other authors? hahahahahahha

    1. I completely understand!! I like when series are connected, but a single series with a definite beginning and end is a must. PDA is “public display of affection,” it’s a common acronym particularly in USA high schools.

      1. Ooooooh! Thanks sooo much, Shannon! I don’t think I had seen it before, oops >.< Feeling silly, haha!
        Also, you said it all with the connection between series. It's cool, but let's take it easy on the "standalones", then! Hahahaha

What are your thoughts?

