I Am America (And So Can You!)

Stephen Colbert

Colbert, Stephen; I Am America
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Publication date: 9-Oct-2007
Date Finished: 19-Jun-2016
Format: Hardback
Pages: 230
Series: —
Genres: Humor, Comedy, Pop Culture, Satire
ISBN: 9780446580502
Source: Library
Rating:3 star

Congratulations–just by opening the cover of this book you became 25% more patriotic.

From Stephen Colbert, the host of television’s highest-rated punditry show The Colbert Report, comes the book to fill the other 23½ hours of your day. I Am America (And So Can You!) contains all of the opinions that Stephen doesn’t have time to shoehorn into his nightly broadcast.

Dictated directly into a microcassette recorder over a three-day weekend, this book contains Stephen’s most deeply held knee-jerk beliefs on The American Family, Race, Religion, Sex, Sports, and many more topics, conveniently arranged in chapter form.

Always controversial and outspoken, Stephen addresses why Hollywood is destroying America by inches, why evolution is a fraud, and why the elderly should be harnessed to millstones.

You may not agree with everything Stephen says, but at the very least, you’ll understand that your differing opinion is wrong.

I Am America (And So Can You!) showcases Stephen Colbert at his most eloquent and impassioned. He is an unrelenting fighter for the soul of America, and in this book he fights the good fight for the traditional values that have served this country so well for so long.

Please buy this book before you leave the store.

About the Author
Stephen Colbert is America. -Goodreads

REVIEW

I absolutely love Stephen Colbert! He is by far my favorite comedian/talk show host! I should clarify, I love his true self, not the character he played, by the same name, on his old show, the Colbert Report. I religiously watch The Late Show with Stephen Colbert, and I have seen every episode since it aired, but I wasn’t the biggest fan of the Report. This book, I Am America (and So Can You!) was written from the perspective of his Report-self, which made me not like it as much. While it was satirically funny at times, this book was a struggle to get through. It saddened me to realize that although this book is  a complete satire, there are people out there who actually think this way! So while it was a decent, funny book, it only garners 3 stars from me.

 WHo’s your favorite comedian?

What are your thoughts?

