The Complete Alice in Wonderland

Leah Moore

Moore, Leah; Complete Alice in Wonderland
Publisher: Dynamite Entertainment
Publication date: 19-Apr-2016
Date Finished: 2-Jun-2016
Format: e-book
Pages: 184
Series:  —
Genres: Comic, Fantasy, Classic, Graphic Novel
ISBN: 9781606909737
Source: Netgalley
Rating:1 star

“Available for the first time in softcover! Join Alice on her whimsical journey down the rabbit hole. For the first time ever, Lewis Carroll’s beloved masterpiece is faithfully adapted and illustrated in its entirety, including the long-lost chapter, “The Wasp in a Wig!” From her initial meeting with the White Rabbit in Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, to her final dinner party with the entire (and outrageous) Through the Looking Glass cast, every moment of Alice’s adventures in that astonishing landscape is captured in gorgeous detail. With old favorites like the Cheshire Cat and the Mad Hatter joined now by a long-forgotten Carroll creation, The Wasp, in one of the book’s latter chapters, children and adults alike can rediscover the complete Alice tale and fall in love with Wonderland all over again!” -Goodreads

REVIEW

I did not enjoy this book, so much so, that I had to give it up. It was a constant burden on my “currently reading list” and I needed it to go away. I really tried, but Alice in Wonderland must not be my thing. I managed to get through the first half of the book, when I couldn’t take it anymore. The art style, while beautiful in stand-alone images, was quite busy in the whole composition. Although that alone would have been an issue I could get through, the story itself was irritating. I can’t even get myself to watch the entirety of the Disney movie Alice in Wonderland, so I don’t know why I bothered with this one. It was most likely a case of incompatibility.

 WHAT’S YOUR FAVORITE Graphic Novel?

I received this ARC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

One thought on “The Complete Alice In Wonderland

  1. I’m also not much into Alice, but I do like various retelling (and there are many). As for this story – the graphic was nice, other than that there was nothing original about it.

What are your thoughts?

