Discussion: Spinster

Bolick, Kate; Spinster2[[You don’t have to have read Spinster to participate!]]

Perhaps this will be a new segment, perhaps not. I recently finished reading Spinster by Kate Bolick (Review here), and the copy I have has discussion questions at the back of it. These questions got me thinking, and I would like to share with my readers my views on the questions, and hopefully generate a discussion on the questions.

As this is a blog post/comment discussion, I’m going to only have one question, and so that a lot of responses are possible, the question I’ve chosen does not require reading the book to be understood and discussed.

The question I’ve chosen is this “On the pressure to marry, Bolick believes, “Men have their own problem; this isn’t one of them.” Do you agree? Why or why not?

As a girl growing up in the midwest, of the United States, it is understood that you’ll get married, have children, and be happy. That alone is the way to living a content life. Additionally, I have felt more restricted with what I can and can’t do because I am a woman.  Boys, on the other hand, are given more freedoms from an early age. They aren’t told that they have to marry because the sky is the limit on what they can achieve. Now I admit that times are changing, responsibilities are changing, and so on. As I am not a man, I know my view may be warped by my bias.

5 thoughts on “Discussion: Spinster

  1. I being a woman of an unspecified agem grew up thinking marriage was the future for me. Once I married, had children and then divorced, I learned I could make it on my own. Make it and thrive on my own. It is a great time to be a woman!

      1. Having my children and being able to stay home with them until they were school age was a definite pro. Once they were older and I was on my own I became a more confident person. I realized I had intelligence and a good work ethic. Those would have not been clear if I had not been in a situation where I had to take care of myself.
        I actually prefer being single. I do not desire to date or marry again.
        I like my life without anyone making demands on me. :).

What are your thoughts?

