Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things That Happened

Allie Brosh

Brosh, Allie; Hyperbole and a Hald
Publisher: Touchstone
Publication date: 29-Oct-2013
Date Finished: 1-May-2016
Format: paperback
Pages: 369
Series:  —
Genres: Graphic Novel, Nonfiction, Humor
ISBN: 9781451666175
Source: library
Rating:4 star

“This is a book I wrote. Because I wrote it, I had to figure out what to put on the back cover to explain what it is. I tried to write a long, third-person summary that would imply how great the book is and also sound vaguely authoritative–like maybe someone who isn’t me wrote it–but I soon discovered that I’m not sneaky enough to pull it off convincingly. So I decided to just make a list of things that are in the book:

Pictures
Words
Stories about things that happened to me
Stories about things that happened to other people because of me
Eight billion dollars*
Stories about dogs
The secret to eternal happiness*

*These are lies. Perhaps I have underestimated my sneakiness! -Goodreads

REVIEW

To be completely honest, this is not the typically graphic novel I would pick up. Usually I go for romantic manga volumes with beautifully drawn characters and detailed settings, this novel is the opposite of that. While the drawings are crudely done (in what looks to be Microsoft paint), they fit the hilarious text perfectly. Ironically, nothing about this novel is perfect, which is one of the things I love about it. Most of the short stories are hilarious depicting childhood events or how they manage their dogs. There are a couple stories that have a deeper, darker aspect. In one story, the main character (who I believe is the author, as this is a memoir), tells the tale of her depression and how it affected her, her outlook on life, and how she overcame it.

I would definitely recommend this book. It’s a good break from one’s typical reading genres into a new format of memoir.

 WHAT’S YOUR FAVORITE GRAPHIC NOVEL?

One thought on “Hyperbole and a Half

  1. I just read this and I gave it 4 stars, too! I loved it, but why I docked a star was because I felt it didn’t end strong. The chapters I liked best were at the beginning, and then I felt it petered out at the end. But definitely a fun read!

What are your thoughts?

