Shelves

AS I AM NOW CO-HOSTING EXPLORING MY BOOKS WITH ADDLEPATES AND BOOK NERDS, OUR TOPIC THIS WEEK IS

A hardback missing its DUST JACKET.

photogrid_1461266738536.jpgI apologize for the blurry picture. I took it last night, right before going to bed, so I wasn’t too concerned with quality at the time.  I actually have quite a few books that are missing their dust jackets because I bought the books at a library sale. Two I will point out are classics that I’ve read and loved. The first is Emma by Jane Austen. Austen is my favorite classic author, my favorite of hers is Pride and Prejudice. The second book is The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald which I thoroughly enjoyed a couple summers ago.

Emma by Jane Austen

From Goodreads

‘I never have been in love; it is not my way, or my nature; and I do not think I ever shall.’

Beautiful, clever, rich – and single – Emma Woodhouse is perfectly content with her life and sees no need for either love or marriage. Nothing, however, delights her more than interfering in the romantic lives of others. But when she ignores the warnings of her good friend Mr. Knightley and attempts to arrange a suitable match for her protegee Harriet Smith, her carefully laid plans soon unravel and have consequences that she never expected. With its imperfect but charming heroine and its witty and subtle exploration of relationships, Emma is often seen as Jane Austen’s most flawless work.

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

From Goodreads

THE GREAT GATSBY, F. Scott Fitzgerald’s third book, stands as the supreme achievement of his career. This exemplary novel of the Jazz Age has been acclaimed by generations of readers. The story of the fabulously wealthy Jay Gatsby and his love for the beautiful Daisy Buchanan, of lavish parties on Long Island at a time when The New York Times noted “gin was the national drink and sex the national obsession,” it is an exquisitely crafted tale of America in the 1920s.

WHICH OF YOUR BOOKS Is missing its dustjacket?

Austen_divider

To participate in the Exploring Your Bookshelf meme hosted by Addlepates and Bookworms and myself, here’s what you do:

  1. Post a picture of your bookshelf (preferably literal, but e-shelves work too).
  2. We’ll give you something about your shelf to write about. It might be your favourite cover, your favourite author, your book you most recently bought etc.
  3. Then give us the blurb and the cover of the book (and what you thought of it if you’ve read it)
  4. And finally, come back to one of our posts and send us a link! We promise to check out all of your posts!
One thought on “Exploring My Books: Missing Jackets

  1. My goodness, so many of my books are missing dust jackets! Some of them because that’s how I bought them, a few because the dust jacket was ugly so I threw it away, and a handful that I lost.

    This is such a neat idea for a meme. I look forward to seeing more.

What are your thoughts?

