The Gilded Cuff

LAUREN SMITH

Smith, Lauren; The Gilded Cuff
Publisher: Forever Yours
Publication date: 10-Feb-2015
Date Finished: 13-Mar-2016
Format: Kindle book
Pages: 352
Series: Surrender (#1)
Genres: Romance, Contemporary Romance, New Adult, Erotica, BDSM
ASIN: B00S5A6144
Source: Lauren Smith Giveaway
Rating:3 star
4 flames

Every passion has its price . . .

Journalist Sophie Ryder has been following Emery Lockwood’s story since she was a little girl. There has always been something in his haunted eyes that she couldn’t resist and now, when she’s certain he holds the key to solving a string of kidnappings, she’ll do anything to speak to him. Even if it means venturing deep into the seductive world of the Gilded Cuff, a luxurious BDSM club on Long Island’s Gold Coast and Emery’s personal playground.

From the moment Sophie enters his shadowy, sensual domain, Emery Lockwood knows this tantalizing new little sub was meant to belong to him. However, Sophie wants more from Emery than just pleasure . . . she wants his past. And that is something he isn’t willing to give—no matter who is asking. But every moment he spends with Sophie, Emery feels his control slipping and he knows it’s only a matter of time before he surrenders to her heart, body, and soul. -Goodreads

REVIEW

While I eagerly read the first few chapters of “The Gilded Cuff”, the rest of the story seemed to drag a bit. The trouble youth persona of the male protagonist didn’t really help Emery’s character. I can’t see him as one who both pushed his family away yet remained a recluse, yet was also so willing to let Sophie into his life. To me, those seem to contradict. Sophie, the female protagonist, was a bit of a flat character, she was very easy to predict. I feel that during my reviews I constantly point out only the bad aspects of a novel, but I want to point out that if I actually finished the book it was pretty decent. While I did enjoy the story, I didn’t like it enough to binge read it. I do think that I will eventually read the sequel, but I am in no hurry to do so.

As for the plot, the story itself was intriguing, but the way the author revealed snippets of the antagonist took away the mystery of the story. I wish she had been a bit more secretive about the evil side.

I feel that during my reviews I constantly point out only the bad aspects of a novel, but I want to point out that if I actually finished the book it was pretty decent. While I did enjoy the story, I didn’t like it enough to binge read it. I do think that I will eventually read the sequel, but I am in no hurry to do so.

 WHAT’S YOUR FAVORITE TYPE OF ROMANCE?

One thought on “The Gilded Cuff

What are your thoughts?

