This week’s topic from the Broke and Bookish was pretty broad, it was “Top Ten Historical Settings You Love/ Ten Historical Settings You’d Love To See or Top Futuristic Books You Love/Ten Futuristic Societies I’d Love To Read in Books.” As I would have struggled to find ten for either the past or future, I decided to do a split and do five places from the past and five places from the future. Note that I don’t read many happy futuristic novels. Most of the futuristic books I read are dystopian!

Top Five Historical Settings I’d Like to see:

Godbersen, Anna; The LuxeA Great and Terrible BeautyLarkin, Jillian; Vixenoutlander

  • Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen
    • England circa 1815. Pride and Prejudice has been one of my favorite classics for a long time now. I have always wanted to know what it would be like to be in England at this time
  • The Luxe by Anna Godbersen
    • Turn of the century New York City has always appealed to me as well. I loved reading the Luxe, it is probably due for a reread sometime soon.
  • A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray
    • Victorian Era, the British counterpart to Turn-of-the-century New York, has also been intriguing to me.
  • Vixen by Jillian Larkin
    • 1920’s America. The Jazz, the people, the love.
  • Outlander by Diana Gabaldon
    • mid-1700s Scotland. Oh, the highlanders. Oh, lord Jaime.

 

TOP FIVE Futuristic SETTINGS I’D LIKE TO SEE:

fahrenheit 451Collins, Suzanne; MockingjayLu, Marie; ChampionThe Heir

  • Winter by Marissa Meyer
    • I would not care to live in the time of Luna under Levana’s control,  but after her demise, it would be awesome to live on the Moon.
  • Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
    • While the whole living without books would be dreadful, it would be intriguing to experience this world.
  • Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
    • I wouldn’t mind Panem after the revolution, definitely not prior.
  • Champion by Marie Lu
    • Same here. Prior to the revolution,  I wouldn’t want to live in this dystopia, unless I was in Antarctica.
  • The Heir by Kiera Cass
    • I would love to be the princess in this novel and have my pick of numerous suitors. The society itself is also intriguing.

WHICH BOOKS HAVE YOU WANTED TO READ FOR A WHILE?

The Top Ten Tuesday meme is hosted by the Broke and Bookish

One thought on “Top Five Historical Settings I’d Love to See & Top Five Futuristic Settings I’d Want to See

What are your thoughts?

