This week’s theme is a

Freebie

so my topic is

Top Ten Non-FICTIONS

To be honest, my top ten nonfiction books are pretty much a majority of the nonfiction I have ever read. But even though I don’t read nonfiction often, these ones are fantastic. So, as usual, my top ten is not in any particular order.

ADULTING: HOW TO BECOME A GROWN-UP IN 468 EASY(ISH) STEPS by Kelly Williams Brown

Brown, Kelly Williams; Adulting

I read this book over the past summer (and reviewed it here).  It is a wonderful, funny guide to growing up and becoming independent.

I AM MALALA: THE GIRL WHO STOOD UP FOR EDUCATION AND WAS SHOT BY THE TALIBAN by Malala Yousafzai

Yousafzai, Malala; I am Malala

While I started this book over two years ago, I finally finished it this past summer (reviewed here). While a slow start, the book gets much better. It definitely makes you appreciate what you have.

THE NEXT AMERICA: BOOMERS, MILLENNIALS, AND THE LOOMING GENERATIONAL SHOWDOWN by Paul Taylor

Taylor, Paul; The Next America

Another book that took me a long time to read, I started it last fall and finally finished it around April (reviewed here). If you ever wanted to know the differences between you and your parent/grandparents, you should read this. It is really interesting.

HALF THE SKY: TURNING OPPRESSION INTO OPPORTUNITY FOR WOMEN WORLDWIDE by Nicholas D. Kristoff

Kristoff, Nicholas; Half the Sky

I read this book for one of my humanities courses in college, and I was moved by it. It is quite an inspirational read.

JUST MY TYPE: A BOOK ABOUT FONTS by Simon Garfield

Garfield, Simon; Just My Type

Here’s another book I read for a college course, although this course was all about books. You may laugh and ask why anyone would read a book about fonts, but you’ll understand when  you do read it that it is awesome. It even gives the story of how the horrid font Comic Sans began.

CODES AND CIPHERS BY Alexander D’Apapeyeff

D'Agapeyeff, Alexander; Codes and Ciphers

So I picked this book at my university’s library after I had finished reading Bitter Blue by Kristin Cashore. In that novel the characters communicate in code which encouraged me to find out more (here’s a review I wrote in February 2013). I ended up reading an old copy from 1939, so it is a bit dated.

THE DIARY OF A YOUNG GIRL BY Anne Frank

Diary

I read this is Junior High and it will probably always stay with me. Just imagining the horrors of that time disturb me. If you haven’t read Anne Frank’s diary, you should.

VERY GOOD LIVES: THE FRINGE BENEFITS OF FAILURE AND THE IMPORTANCE OF IMAGINATION BY J.K. Rowling

Rowling, J.K.; Very Good Lives

I’m going to just say that we all already know that J.K. Rowling has a way with words.

DELIRIOUS NEW YORK: A RETROACTIVE MANIFESTO FOR MANHATTAN BY Rem KoolHaas

Koolhaas, Rem; Delirious New York

I read this book for an architectural history class in college. It is an interesting look at New York City. While very intriguing, it will probably be extremely boring to someone who doesn’t care about architecture.

THE LIFE-CHANGING MAGIC OF TIDYING UP: THE JAPANESE ART OF DECLUTTERING AND ORGANIZING BY Marie Kondo

life-changing magic

Around April I picked up this book at the bookstore and jokingly bought it, just because of the title. I ended up reading it (reviewed here) and it is actually a very interesting mind set.

WHICH SERIES ARE YOU STILL READING AND/OR ABANDONED?

The Top Ten Tuesday meme is hosted by the Broke and Bookish

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Nonfictions

  1. Hi! I always think I don’t like nonfiction, then I read a nonfiction book and love it! And actually, a book about fonts sounds oddly interesting! 🙂 I also am going to look into the Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up. I love tidying up! Great list!
    My TTT
    Leslie

What are your thoughts?

