Loving Rose

BY Stephanie Laurens

Laurens, Stephanie; Loving Rose

Publisher: Avon
Publication date: 29-Jul-2014
Format: paperback
Pages: 374
Genres: historical romance
ISBN: 9780062068675
Source: library
Rating:2 stars

“Miraculously spared from death, Malcolm Sinclair erases the notorious man he once was. Reinventing himself as Thomas Glendower, he strives to make amends for his past, yet he never imagines penance might come via a secretive lady he discovers living in his secluded manor.

Rose has a plausible explanation for why she and her children are residing in Thomas’s house, but she quickly realizes he’s far too intelligent to fool. Revealing the truth is impossibly dangerous, yet day by day he wins her trust, and then her heart.

But then her enemy closes in, and Rose turns to Thomas as the only man who can protect her and the children. And when she asks for his help, Thomas finally understands his true purpose, and with unwavering commitment, he seeks his redemption the only way he can—through living the reality of loving Rose.-Goodreads

REVIEW

If you have followed my blog for awhile now, you’ve probably read that I don’t typically review historical romances because of the number I’ve read, unless the book is particularly good or particularly horrible, or just took me forever to read. For this novel the last reason is why I am writing this. When I say forever I really just mean that I kept wanting the book to end, but I still have many pages left to read, I only started the book last Wednesday or so. So forever in this case is six days.

Loving Rose was neither horrible nor great. It had some entertaining moments and a lot of dragging scenes. Even the sex scenes were dragging because they had  too many adjectives and not enough verbs. I have to say that this was the fluffiest writing I’ve read in quite a while. I’m generally not a fan of fluff. I do appreciate that I wasn’t entirely able to guess the plot twist, but I did guess it partially.  Due to these reasonings, Loving Rose was only worth two stars, it was okay.

What do you think of Stephanie Laurens?

One thought on “Loving Rose

What are your thoughts?

