While usually the TOPIC of the week comes FROM ADDLEPATES AND BOOKWORMSAs she seems to be on Hiatus, I’ve come up with my own topic, which is my

Oldest Book

(By publishing date)


20150624_202604As I am now an adult, at least I’ve read a book on how to be one, I figured out it was about time I had files for bills and important papers. As I am a frugal person, I used a wood frame, recycled from one of my college studio projects, nailed some rope around it, and created a make-shift file holder. So then I had to figure out where to place my masterpiece where it wouldn’t fall, hence my book reorganizing. This caused a shift of a lot of books near my nightstand. I may need to start scaling that wall as well. On another note, typically the Exploring My Books topic is supplied by Addlepates and Bookworms but her site hasn’t had a post in the last couple weeks, so I made my own topic for the week and came up with a couple of others for backups later. This week I am showcasing my oldest book, by publishing date. This copy of “War of the Classes” by Jack London was published in 1912. So definitely not a first edition, but it does have a pretty cover. I found this book at a house sale and bought it for $4, which I don’t consider bad because it is beautiful. While I have not read it, I find the topic intriguing and plan to read it eventually.
20150624_202623

Who is your oldest book by?

Austen_divider

To participate in the Exploring Your Bookshelf meme hosted by Addlepates and Bookworms, here’s what you do:

  1. Post a picture of your bookshelf (preferably literal, but e-shelves work too).
  2. I’ll give you something about your shelf to write about. It might be your favourite cover, your favourite author, your book you most recently bought etc.
  3. Then give us the blurb and the cover of the book (and what you thought of it if you’ve read it)
  4. And finally, come back to my post and send us a link! I promise to check out all of your posts!

 

2 thoughts on “Exploring My Books: Oldest Book

  1. I’m trying to figure this one out, but since I’ve not got all my books here, I honestly can’t tell. I think it might be my Dutch copies of Gone with the Wind (I believe they were printed in the 60s). There’s also the old wedding bible from my boyfriend’s grandparents from the 30s (but that’s technically not mine). I’ve also got an old copy of Herman Hesse somewhere. Also, no idea when it was printed. Also, there’s some second hand classics, though I think they’re also from the 60s.
    I find this quite interesting. I’ll get back to let you know once I’ve been reunited with my other books!

What are your thoughts?

