Artemis Fowl: The Arctic Incident

by Eoin Colfer

Colfer, Eoin; Artemis Fowl The Arctic Incident

Publisher: Hyperion Miramax Books
Publication date: 1-May-2004
Format: paperback
Pages: 277
Series: Artemis Fowl (#2)
Genres: Juvenile
ISBN: 9780786851478
Source: my book stacks
Rating:

“Artemis rushes from Ireland school to Russia where the Mafiya kidnapped his father. Captain Holly Short of LEPRecon against fairies interrupts him. This time he may have to join the fairies instead of battling them.-Goodreads

REVIEW

While this was a re-read for me, it was as if I’d read it new because of how long it has been. Yet again the cover grants us mystery, while hinting at a major motif. The cold, arctic region. I feel that as a juvenile novel, it is an intriguing novel.

Colfer came back with the same wonderful cast of characters from the first novel. We start of with our evil genius Artemis who actually ends up being not so evil and quite helpful. I appreciate that the character has developed so much since because of the events first novel. He has become quite an adorable boy. Then we move onto his trusty side-kick-ass-er Butler, who I wished had an actual name already. His character proves loyal and open-minded and just a great butt-kicker. Our favorite fairy, Holly is such a forgiving person/thing that it makes me happy. I wish I had a fairy friend (well of specific species because Mulch disgusts me).

As with the first novel, I really like Colfer’s style. I appreciate that he gives a well-rounded perspective of every situation by showing us the evil minds as well as the good ones. Overall I recommend the adventure, it is very heartwarming the lengths Artemis will go for his father.

What do you think of Artemis Fowl’s second adventure?

One thought on “The Arctic Incident

What are your thoughts?

