Inkdeath
by Cornelia Funke

inkdeath

Publisher: The Chicken House
Publication date: June-2008
Format: Hardcover & Audiobook
Pages: 663
Series: Inkworld Trilogy (#3)
Genres: YA/Juvenile, Fantasy
ISBN: 9780439866286
Source: my bookshelves & library audiobook
Rating:3 stars

“CAUGHT BETWEEN THE COVERS OF A CURSED STORY . . .

Ever since the extraordinary events of Inkspell, when the enchanted book Inkheart drew Meggie and her father, Mo, into its chapters, life in the Inkworld has been more tragic than magical.

The fire-eater Dustfinger is dead, having sacrificed his life for his apprentice Farid’s, and now, under the rule of the evil Adderhead, the fairy-tale land is in bloody chaos, its characters far beyond the control of Fenoglio, their author. Even Elinor, left behind in the real world, believes her family to be lost—lost between the covers of a book.

Facing the threat of eternal winter, Mo inks a dangerous deal with Death itself. There yet remains a faint hope of changing the cursed story—if only he can fill its pages fast enough.

Inkdeath—the captivating final tale in the Inkheart trilogy. -Goodreads

REVIEW

When I was in junior high I read Inkheart and loved it. It was such a fantastical tale that had me dreaming of entering other worlds. For christmas, after I had already read the book, I received Inkheart and Inkspell. For some reason, at that time I read only half of Inkspell, but when Inkdeath was released in 2008 I quickly purchased it so that I would have the complete trilogy on my shelves. It has now been seven years and I finally got around to both finishing Inkspell (previously reviewed here) and starting and finishing Inkdeath.

Something about the covers of these books has always fascinated me. They have the appearance of fancy looking book while revealing a bit of the world inside it, and Inkdeath is evidently filled with both life and death.

Not only did it take me a very long time to actually pick this book up, but once I started the novel it took me a couple of months to complete it – which is unusual for me. Like when I read Inkspell, I appreciated Inkdeath more when it was being read to me through the audio book, as opposed to when I read it myself. That is one of the reasons it took so long for me to complete it. I borrowed the audiobook through my library’s digital media loaning system and I had to keep checking out the book. While good for the book -not so much for me- other patrons keep placing holds on the novel causing me to wait even longer. It took me so long that I’m proud of myself for even finishing it.

As an ending to a trilogy, I was disappointed. I felt that Funke rushed through the ending of the novel by wrapping it up in the last thirty pages. I could have used more details on Meggie’s feelings for Farid and Doria, why would the author take that from me? Overall I’m content with how it ended. Everything wrapped up nicely, except for a bit of psychological damage to a few of the characters. Because I needed it read to me and lost my attention when I read it myself, I only rated it at three stars.

Have you read about the Inkworld? If so, lets chat!

Featured Image is the chapter headers from the novel.

What are your thoughts?

