The Bane Chronicles

by Cassandra Clare, Maureen Johnson, & Sarah Rees Brennan

Clare, Cassandra; The Bane Chronicles

Publisher: McElderry Books
Publication date: 11-Nov-2014
Format: hardcover
Pages: 518
Genres: YA
ISBN: 9781442495999
Source: Barnes and Noble
Rating: 4-5 stars

Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices can get to know warlock Magnus Bane like never before in this collection of New York Times bestselling tales, in print for the first time with an exclusive new story and illustrated material.

This collection of eleven short stories illuminates the life of the enigmatic Magnus Bane, whose alluring personality, flamboyant style, and sharp wit populate the pages of the #1 New York Times bestselling series, The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices.

Originally released one-by-one as e-only short stories by Cassandra Clare, Maureen Johnson, and Sarah Rees Brennan, this compilation presents all ten together in print for the first time and includes a never-before-seen eleventh tale, as well as new illustrated material. -Goodreads

REVIEW

When I first bought this book (around the time it was published) I was looking forward to it, but because of its format as a collection of short stories I was easily able to set it aside at the end of a story, this is why it took me several months to read. The cover of the book aligns with other Cassandra Clare works (The Mortal Instruments Series and The Infernal Devices Trilogy). This one features the star of the short stories, Magnus Bane, with his iconic blue sparks.

I’ve loved Magnus Bane  since I read about him in City of Bones, so I was grateful when Clare released these tales, and I was definitely grateful after I read them because they round out Bane’s character.  Through the short stories we learn more about his history and how deep his relationship truly go with some of the characters and their families. Despite his immortal life, these tales make him more human, with feelings and intrigues, than supernatural.

While I definitely have some favorites out of the collection, there were a few that had me laughing aloud and others that had me on edge. I recommend The Bane Chronicles to anyone who enjoyed The Mortal Instruments and/or The Infernal Devices.  (Through these stories, we see characters from both series)

What did you think of The Bane Chronicles?

Featured Image found here.

Advertisements

One thought on “The Bane Chronicles

What are your thoughts?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s