This week’s challenge is one of the most difficult ones I have participated in. I find it is difficult to discern what I absolutely will never read because I may change my mind further in my life. It is possible that my genre preference may evolve if I end up being burnt out on the ones I enjoy now. Below are some of the books I am fairly certain I will never want to read, unfortunately I couldn’t manage to find ten.

  • The Book Thief
    • I’ve tried to read this before, yet never got hooked, it is about time to give it up.
  • The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
    • This one just has never interested me.
  • The DaVinci Code
    • Again I’ve tried and failed on this one.
  • The Boy in the Stripped Pajamas
    • Something about Holocaust themed novels turns me away, there is just too much pain and sadness for me to read them. I’m a big fan of happy endings and these kinds of book rarely offer those.
  • Gone Girl
    • I saw the movie and now I never want to read the book, too much suspense.
  • Les Miserable
    • Like Huck Finn, this classic has never interested me. That and it is super long.
  • Stephen King’s works
    • I’m just not a fan of books that are based entirely around horror, suspense, or murder… which I feel knocks out a majority of King’s works.

What will you never read?

The Top Ten Tuesday meme is hosted by the Broke and Bookish.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’ll Most Likely Never Read

  1. That is a tough one! I think if I were to do a list of books I won’t ever read, it’ll include classics like any novels written by Jane Austen and Huckleberry Finn as well. I take it you’re not much of a Stephen King fan?

      1. I was going to say not all of Stephen King’s books are suspenseful or horror but all the books I’ve read of his had bits of both in them. His books aren’t for everyone 🙂

  2. That is a tough one. It’s easier to say books I’ll never reread: Mark Twain’s “Tom Sawyer” and Brian Jacques’ “Redwall.” Even so, I might change my mind.

What are your thoughts?

