Whenever someone asks who my favorite of (insert category here) I hesitate. I’ve always had a tough time choosing favorites. This post is one that was a struggle to complete because I love books and I love that the authors wrote such fantastic novels, but choosing favorite authors is more than choosing your favorite books. Its choosing your favorite people for creating their worlds and who they are.  Below are my top ten favorite authors, I’ve only mentioned the works by these authors that I have read.

  • Rowling, J.K.J.K. Rowling
    • author of the Harry Potter series.
    • Her words brought me into the magic of books. Also, her books are one of the only ones that I continuously reread. Additionally I respect and admire Rowling for her charity work.
  • Mead, RichelleRichelle Mead
    • author of the Vampire Academy series and its spin-off the Bloodlines series.
    • Meads world within our world is wonderfully intricate. I love her take on the vampire craze and I can’t wait to try some of her older works, as well as her newest book Soundless to be released later this year.
  • Meyer, MarissaMarissa Meyer
    • author of the Lunar Chronicles.
    • When I first came across Cinder, I was skeptical as to whether I would like it, I’m glad I took the chance on it because it is a fantastic series that gives an interesting twist on classic fairy tales.
  • Collins, SuzanneSuzanne Collins
    • author of The Hunger Games Trilogy.
    • Collins’ Panem brought me into the genre of dystopian novels. It makes the reader think that whatever we do now could result in the ruination of our nation.
  • Green, JohnJohn Green
    • author of The Fault in Our Stars, An Abundance of Katherines, and co-author of Will Grayson, Will Grayson.
    • Long before I picked up a John Green novel, I was watching his vlog. I appreciate that not only is he writing novels relevant to his audience, but he has set out to educate his audience on world problems and how we can change it.
  • Rowell, RainbowRainbow Rowell
    • author of Attachments, Fangirl, and Eleanor & Park.
    • Rainbow Rowell has a way to speaking to your soul and telling you that what you think, no matter how depressing or unsettling it may seem, is alright. That you are still human just as much as the next person.
  • Haddix, Margaret PetersonMargaret Peterson Haddix
    • author of the Shadow Children series.
    • While I read this dystopian-esque series long before The Hunger Games I didn’t realize that is what it really was. What I remember is that Haddix showed me a corrupt system and how children can change it.
  • Austen, JaneJane Austen
    • author of Pride and Prejudice, Emma, Northanger Abbey, Persuasion, and Mansfield Park.
    • Austen’s novels give me an escape, not only from reality, but from the continuously overused themes in today’s literature. Her works take me to the time before light bulbs and give a more authentic feeling than the historical fiction of today.
  • Clare, CassandraCassandra Clare
    • author of the Mortal Instruments series and the Infernal Devices trilogy.
    • Like Mead and Rowling, Clare has created a world within our world full of supernatural creatures and intrigue. Clare isn’t afraid to create controversial characters either.
  • Roth, VeronicaVeronica Roth
    • author of the Divergent trilogy.
    • Roth, like Haddix and Collins envisioned the ruination of the United States in a way not too outlandish or unbelievable. It the types of technologies mentioned in the novels existed today I don’t doubt people would be trying to remove certain unsavory traits.

The Top Ten Tuesday meme is hosted by the Broke and Bookish.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Favorite Authors

  1. I also included Rowling and Austen on my top ten list! But Veronica Roth, Marissa Meyer and Suzanne Collins are all favourites. I’ve only read one Rainbow Rowell (Attachments) – I need to read some more especially Eleanor & Park!

What are your thoughts?

