Inkspell
by Cornelia Funke

caption...

Publisher:The Chicken House
Publication date: Oct-2005
Format: hardback/audiobook
Pages: 635
Series: Inkworld
Genres: Juvenile Fiction
ISBN: 9780439554008
Source:my bookshelf (hard copy)/ the library (audiobook)
Rating:4 stars


Although a year has passed, not a day goes by without Meggie thinking of INKHEART, the book whose characters became real. But for Dustfinger, the fire-eater brought into being from words, the need to return to the tale has become desperate. When he finds a crooked storyteller with the ability to read him back, Dustfinger leaves behind his young apprentice Farid and plunges into the medieval world of his past. Distraught, Farid goes in search of Meggie, and before long, both are caught inside the book, too. But the story is threatening to evolve in ways neither of them could ever have imagined.
goodreads summary-Goodreads


To set up this review I want to note that, I was working a temporary job which involved little to no brain power, so I was able to listen to music during work. After a while I grew tired of my musical selection and decided to branch out to listening to audiobooks. (I used to not bother with audiobooks since I read faster than the narrator reads, but they work perfectly when I want to hear the story without being able to read myself).

This was my second attempt at reading this novel, the first time I tried to read it was after I’d read Inkheart (the first book in the trilogy) in high school. For some reason I ended up giving up on reading the novel somewhere around chapter 7. This second attempt was much more successful, but since it had been a long time, at least 7 years since I read Inkheart, I was a bit confused when I restarted Inkspell a couple weeks ago.

After my initial confusion, I became entranced in Brendan Fraser’s voice (the lovely actor who narrated the audiobook). The story came to life before my eyes, although I was stuck staring a menial information on a computer screen all day.

Occasionally when I would get home from work I would want to know more of the story, at those times I plucked the novel from my bookshelf and read it myself. I noticed that I was much more intrigued by the story when it was being read to me, instead of reading it myself.
Cornelia Funke wrote a wonderful tale that is appropriate to its audience, children. The story would be perfect as a bedside read to kids before they wander off to sleep because of the detailed descriptions and short chapters.

I ended up ranking the novel down to four stars because I don’t feel as if I would have gotten through it if not for Brendan Fraser reading it to me through my headphones. Despite that the story is great and I have already started read my hardcover copy / listening to the audiobook of Inkdeath, the third book in the trilogy.

What are your thoughts?

