In the spirit of The Broke and Bookish’s previous top tens, I decided to figure out which of my 509 physical books I would save if my house caught on fire. The below books are not in any particular order, they just all mean something to me.

  • Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
    • Honestly I wouldn’t be able to let this book burn because of the irony of it. Also it is my all time favorite ‘classic’ novel.
  • My MaternalGrandma’s Grandma’s Polishprayer book
    • While I will never be able to read this book and I’m not religious in the slightest, I could not let a piece of my family’s history turn to ashes. It is also the oldest book I own, having been published in 1912.
  • My Maternal Grandma’s high school chemistry book
    • This is one of the coolest books I own, even though that by now it is probably at least 90% scientifically inaccurate.
  • Harry Potter (and the Half-Blood Prince) by J.K. Rowling
    • While I’d desire to save the entirety of the Harry Potter Series, I would settle on saving the copy of the Half Blood Prince which I rebound. (I rebound it because it was an extremely water damaged copy, and now it’s pretty again.)
  • Jane Austen Seven Novels by Jane Austen
    • Because I love Austen, so I’d take all her novels with me in one edition.
  • The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank
    • This book has always remained a part of me, it was probably the beginning of my journey into understanding empathy.
  • Shakespeare’s Comedies, Histories, & Tragedies: A Facsimile Edition of The First Folio by William Shakespeare
    • I am not the biggest Shakespeare fan, but I would save this book because it was given to me by my paternal grandmother.
  • The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
    • I love this novel and I’d especially save this copy because it is autographed.
  • Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead
    • Next to J.K. Rowling, Richelle Mead is one of my favorite authors. I would have to save at least one of her books.
  • The Next American Revolution by Grace Lee Boggs
    • I bought this book to read for my honors thesis last year, and while I did not get much material out of the book to use for my thesis, I did gain more personally. After reading this book I realized I want to help make a difference. I don’t know what my cause will be, but I want to help others.
One thought on “Top Ten Books I’d Quickly Save If My House Caught Fire

What are your thoughts?

