While looking through The Broke and Bookish’s previous top tens I came across this fun topic. As a major book collector (as in I keep any book I can get my hands on) this is an excellent first top ten post for me. So the below books I purchased myself, yet never got around to reading are in no particular order.

  • Inkdeath by Cornelia Funke.inkdeath
    • I purchased this book solely because I already owned Inkheart and Inkspell. I completely intended to finally read this one, but I unfortunately never even got around to reading Inkspell.
    • Has been sitting on my shelf since 2008.
  • papertownsPaper Towns by John Green.
    • I intend to read this book before the movie comes out, but have yet to have any desire to read it since I brought it home. It has been a constant on my nightstand, just occupying space.
    • Has been sitting on my shelf since early last December.
  • wurthering heightsWuthering Heights by Emily Bronte.
    • I bought this book when I was on a classics kick in highschool. I didn’t get very far with it. I took it on a roadtrip once and I believe I opened the cover, then promptly put the paperback back into my backpack where it experienced some wear and tear.
    • Has been sitting on my shelf since at least 2010.
  • DaVinciCodeThe DaVinci Code by Dan Brown.
    • I bought this book when I was all the rage. I don’t really understand why I wanted the book seeing as mysteries are not really my genre. Also, despite the fact I have not read the book yet, I seem to have obtained two additional copies over the years.
    • Has been sitting on my shelf since at least 2007.
  • the book thiefThe Book Thief by Markus Zusak.
    • I bought this one at some point during high school. The premise sounded good, but looking back I don’t see how it appealed to me. Although that may be my adult perspective of not wanting to read about the sadness of World War Two showing through.
    • Has been sitting on my shelf since at least 2008.
  • FoundFound by Margaret Peterson Haddix.
    • I loved the hidden children series by this author, which lead me to purchasing this novel. I believe I tried starting this book a couple times, but my attempts were futile. I really enjoy this author, so I will hopefully attempt this novel again.
    • Has been sitting on my shelf since at least 2008.
  • AwakenedAwakened by P.C. Cast.
    • In high school I started reading the House of Night Series, I enjoyed it, but then the books started to drag on. This book “Awakened” is the eighth book in the series, and I just never got around to finishing the series.
    • Has been sitting on my shelf since at least 2011.
  • TheLastOlympianThe Last Olympian by Rick Riodan.
    • I ended up buying the entirety of the Percy Jackson books in one go, from my sister’s book order. I read the first two and thoroughly enjoyed them, but then life got in the way and I have yet to return to the series. That would be a good goal for this year.
    • Has been sitting on my shelf since at least 2010.
  • TwelveYearsASlaveTwelve Years a Slave by Solomon Northup.
    • This book is a relatively new acquisition. I heard that the movie was fantastic (I still haven’t seen it) so I thought I’d try out the book first. Seeing as it is a classic, it will take me a while to even attempt to read it. I have it has a potential book for one of my book challenges this year, so ideally I’ll finish it within the year.
    • Has been sitting on my shelf since last December.
  • EndymionSpringEndymion Spring by Matthew Skelton.
    • I purchased this book when I was still in jr high. I liked the blurb on the cover so I purchased it, but since then I have not picked it up.
    • Has been sitting on my shelf since 2006.
What are your thoughts?

