Richelle Mead
the fiery heart
Let me start by saying sorry for the enormous hiatus, while I have had a bit of time to read this past semester. I didn’t have much time to do anything else, like blog about the books I read. I had a few good books worthy of blog posts that I read before this one, but I just finished this one and it has warranted a review. Once I finish the fourth book in the series, I will write a review over the entirety of the Mortal Instruments Series.

Goodreads summary: Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets – and human lives.

In The Indigo Spell, Sydney was torn between the Alchemist way of life and what her heart and gut were telling her to do. And in one breathtaking moment that Richelle Mead fans will never forget, she made a decision that shocked even her. . . .

But the struggle isn’t over for Sydney. As she navigates the aftermath of her life-changing decision, she still finds herself pulled in too many directions at once. Her sister Zoe has arrived, and while Sydney longs to grow closer to her, there’s still so much she must keep secret. Working with Marcus has changed the way she views the Alchemists, and Sydney must tread a careful path as she harnesses her profound magical ability to undermine the way of life she was raised to defend. Consumed by passion and vengeance, Sydney struggles to keep her secret life under wraps as the threat of exposure — and re-education — looms larger than ever.

Let me begin this by stating that Richelle Mead is one of my favorite authors! ((I will always love JK Rowling)) She has once again created a story so wonderful that I wish I could be a part of that world. This being the fourth book in the series, I have just grown to love the characters even more. Unlike her other novels this one is written from both Sydney and Adrian’s perspectives. Each person successfully encompasses their chapters making it easy to remember whose mind we are in. Adrian’s chapters are typically more drastic with his moods and its intriguing the way he thinks. Towards the end of the book he begins to level out his moods and becomes more Sydney-like in that respect. The relationship between the two characters is what I love the most. They are complete opposites coming from different world with different beliefs, yet they love each other so completely. This novel had me extremely happy at times, laughing out loud at others, and sad at some of the events that unfold. I am eager to learn how Richelle will evolve this tale in the next book called Silver Shadows that will be out July 29th!

On another note, as soon as I finished the book I tweeted about it and Richelle Mead retweeted me! Best day ever!

What are your thoughts?

