Nicomachean Ethics (continued)

Aristotle


Book 10
(Sections: 1, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8)

i.

…pleasure and pain permeate the whole of life…” pg. 254

Pleasure is typically that which one seeks out of life. My studio instructor says often that pleasure should be number one on your lists, even above le Corbusier (early modern architect) and Hugh Grant(actor). I feel the same way as her about this, what is the point in living if not to live pleasurably? Pain and pleasure are recurring themes in life. I feel that pain is there to later make us appreciate the pleasure we have.
iii.

…we hold that what everyone believes is so…” pg. 257

Sticking to the status quo seems to be a prevalent theme in Aristotle. He often remarks that because everyone else thinks so, it must be so. That is not always the answer though.

…it is possible to pass into a state of pleasure quickly or slowly, but not to actualize the state…” pg. 258

I believe this means that you can be very happy with your life and present situation, but don’t realize it immediately because you are focusing on tiny details that may have gone wrong. For example the grade I received on my structures test, while a decent grade (a B), it upset me because I know I can do better than that. After the fact I just needed to look at my whole life rather than this one grade to cheer myself up, because I have a happy life.

…nor would anyone choose to find enjoyment in doing something very disgraceful, even if there were no prospect of painful consequences.” pg. 260

This I feel is false, there are people who get enjoyment out of very disgraceful things, we call them serial killers. They kill for the thrill of it and do not care whether they get punished because it was about the pleasure of the act and the chase.
V.

The more pleasurable activity interferes with the other, and if it is much more pleasurable, does so increasingly, so that the other activity ceases altogether.” pg. 265

I find this is a common occurrence for me, especially when I am studying for my environmental systems midterm. Even television commercials are enough to distract me from reading over my notes, and I hate commercials.
vi.

…we must class happiness as one of those to be chosen for themselves…” pg. 268

I also believe that people choose to be happy, and some people don’t. They could have everything they want and or need, and still consider themselves unhappy. These people typically irritate me because they have it all, yet they don’t care. They take advantage of what they have and are ungrateful.
vii.

…since the intellect is the highest thing in us…” pg. 270

This quote makes me think of a discussion from my Honors 296, science, course. We talked about the mindscape and how it could be this intangible space where everyone’s thoughts reside. You can sometimes feel other’s thoughts, but you can’t tell what they are; therefore, we are all individual and collective in the mindscape. My instructor went on to say that only humans have this mindscape because of the synapses in our body so we must be the highest intellectual beings on Earth. This also could help prove that the intellect is the highest thing in us as well.

One thought on “Nicomachean Ethics (continued)

  1. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I have truly enjoyed
    browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

What are your thoughts?

