Medea


Euripides
Medea was a tale I have never read before. It was not as intriguing as Oedipus Rex or Agamemnon, but wasn’t a difficult read in the least. I only found a couple quotes within the text that intrigued me.

“The fiercest anger of all, the most incurable, is that which rages in the place of dearest love.” -pg. 152 (Chorus)

I feel this is quite accurate. It is similar to the phrase “Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned.” Medea is extremely upset because of her husband (Jason)’s infidelity and thus will do anything possible to make his life a living hell.

“If only children could be got some other way, without the female sex! If women didn’t exist, human life would be rid of all its miseries!” -pg. 153 (Jason)

I feel Jason would not feel this way if he knew the pains of childbirth, especially in this time period.

Overall the story was interesting enough, I was at least able to get through it without falling asleep. I’m pretty sure the next reading I need to do for this class will put me asleep (Nietzsche again).

What are your thoughts?

