The Birth of Tragedy (pt.1)


Friedrich Nietzsche

This is not an easy read, not in the slightest!
Here are some passages that stood out to me when I was reading sections 1 &2 for my humanities class.


pg.21
“…Apollo might even be described as the magnificent divine image of the principium individuationis (the principle which accounts for the existence of individual phenomena in their multiplicity), through whose gestures and looks all the pleasure and wisdom and beauty of ‘appearance’ speak to us.”

What I deciphered out of this is that Apollo is the originator of aesthetic beauty and wisdom.
pg.22
“…the principle of reason (the principle of reason states that for every fact there is a reason why it is so and not otherwise).”

Therefore everything I like/dislike has a reason behind it. Does this rule out gut feelings? Am I not aloud to like something without reason, or is there always an underlying reason that I am unaware of?
pg.23
“Man is no longer an artist, he has become a work of art…”

I’m assuming this means that we are the creation of an almighty god, and thus his work of art. Once man realizes that s/he is a creation by another this line comes to be truth. But then again, even as works of art we can then create other works of art, whether they are flesh and blood (babies) or some other medium. We are art that creates art, this is cyclical to an extent because of this.
pg.26
“The music of Apollo was Doric architecture rendered in sound (architecture as ‘frozen music’), but in the merely suggestive notes characteristic of the cithara.”

This reminds me of a book I had to read in my ARCH 100 course, Experiencing Architecture there was a section devoted to architecture and frozen music, regarding things like rhythm in architecture. Personally I feel that many things influence architecture, music is definitely one of those things. I have had to use a piece of music to create a structure for a project my freshman year.

More on this book will probably come later, because the assigned reading this time was only 8 pages out of at least 130 pages.

What are your thoughts?

